Basic Sugar Cookie Recipe

Baking Time: 10 minutes

Prep Time: 2 hours

Serving: 40

This is my first time baking cookies. I decided to make some just to  impress my loved ones last valentine’s day hehe.  I personally chose heart shaped cookie cutters because they looked cute!  If you have spare time of making these, you should try it!

Ingredients:

  1. 5 cups of all purpose flour
  2. 2 cups of refined sugar
  3. 4 eggs
  4. 2 cups of softened butter
  5. 2 teaspoon of baking powder
  6. 1 teaspoon of salt
  7. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Here’s a quick video overview of my first cookie-baking experience. Scroll down for complete step by step tutorial 🙂

How To Do It?

  1. Mix butter and sugar in a bowl. Make sure to leave a room for 5 cups of flour later.
  2. Add in eggs and vanilla until smooth.
  3. Stir in the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and salt).
  4. Cover and chill the dough for 1 hour – overnight.dsc_1710
  5. Preheat oven 400F.
  6. Roll out dough on a floured surface.dsc_1714
  7. Using a cookie cutter, cut the dough into 1/2 inch thick.dsc_1752
  8. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.dsc_1758
  9. Bake 10 minutes.
  10. Cool completely before decorating.dsc_1761wp-1487488749566.jpg
  11. Serve and enjoy 🙂

After baking, I used my DIY cookie boxes  as a gift wrap. I like utilizing everything that I made. It makes me feel fulfilled, gives a personal touch on my gift and it’s a great way to save money! I provided a link for that right here if you want to try ’em. 🙂

Do you have any other version of sugar cookie recipe? I would love to hear about them! 🙂

Much Love, J

 

 

6 thoughts on “Basic Sugar Cookie Recipe

Leave a Reply

